Review: True Calling – Siobhan Davis

3D-stand

True Calling is the debut novel from Irish author Siobhan Davis. The novel is set on Planet Novo, a planet created in the likeness of earth but far more technologically advanced. The people who live on Novo have been screened extensively to ensure that the new planet earth prospers. The only drawback to being chosen for this new planet is the fact that the government erased certain memories from the minds of the people.

For Ariana, this is the most confusing part of her new life. She can’t remember the people from her past who were left on earth, but at night she can see them in her dreams. Most specifically, she can see Zane.

When the government set up The Calling, a pageant set up to match up couples who would produce the most ideal offspring, Ariana has to decide between Cal, the boy she loves even though her father disapproves, or Zane, the boy that her father adores, even though Ariana cannot remember her life with him.

I liked the character of Ariana. I liked that she was a determined character who stood up for her beliefs. She was a strong female character who condemned the decision of the government to force women to procreate.

I enjoyed the dual perspective of Ariana and Zane. It was interesting to read about how life worked in both planets.

Although slow-paced at times, I enjoyed the compelling storyline and relatable cast of characters.

This novel would appeal to readers of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

*Thanks to Siobhan Davis for the photo of the novel.*

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review: True Calling – Siobhan Davis

  1. Pingback: Interview: Siobhan Davis, author of True Calling | booksandbutterbeer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s