Review: The Impossible Knife of Memory – Laurie Halse Anderson

IMG_3461 IMG_3499

Hayley Kincain and her father have been on the road for the past five years. When her fathers PTSD reaches a critical point they return to the town where he grew up so that Hayley can go to school. Hayley isn’t ready to settle down into a normal life, until she meets Finn, a boy who sees the world the same way as Hayley and helps her to deal with the challenges in her life.

The Impossible Knife of Memory is a poignant novel dealing with the issues of PTSD and settling down in a new town. I enjoyed this novel and found it hard to put it down once I started reading.

Hayley was an incredibly strong character. From the very start of the novel I could see that she was going to be an independent and headstrong character. She takes care of her father who has returned from Iraq with several injuries and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

The chapters in The Impossible Knife of Memory are short, most being two to three pages in length. I really liked this layout, as it made the story move faster. I found it hard to limit myself to just reading one or two chapters, because they were so short. 

This novel is perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult and Stephen Chbosky. This story is honest and heartbreaking, while showing the road to healing.  

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Review: The Impossible Knife of Memory – Laurie Halse Anderson

  1. What edition is that? I loved the simple cover on it. It is so pretty!

    I have been wanting to read this for a while and I am so glad you liked it. I completely agree when it comes to chapter length. I think it makes reading so much easier and quicker.

    Really like Stephen Chbosky so I will have to check this one out! 🙂

    Great review! 🙂 xxx

    Alex @ The Shelf Diaries

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s